Thursday, March 24, 2011

Free Tune and Mix + New Release - Rennie Pilgrem

I hope everyone out there is having a great week so far!! It's almost the weekend and we're headed off to VT for Blitzkreig this Saturday, so if you're in the area, see you there! We've got a healthy helping of tunage on the tables today coming at you from Rennie Pilgrem. One of the true icons and legends of Breakbeat, Rennie has been laying down the business for too long to remember. Being the son of a jazz trumpeter, Rennie has music in his blood and began playing sax as a youth. Getting his start in multiple funk bands he picked up character and soul that would later serve as the backbone for many of his own tracks. Joining Rhythm Section in the late 80's, Rennie began making House and Techno and in 1993 he founded TCR. Still going strong today, TCR is one of the longest running electronic music labels and they continue to put out awesome music. Back with his latest release on TCR, the latest in the Street Legal series which is another double EP of multiple dancefloor goodies. "Street Legal 3" ups-the-ante even more than brilliantly received number 2.
 From the trip-hopped, transcendental "Dream 104" through to the monstrous, carnival meets G-funk of "Revolution 7", via the futuristic "Machine". From the full-on breaks of "One Time" to the banging, 140 BPM Breaks/Nu Jungle throw-down of "Here We Go" if you don't like any of these, you don't like Electronic music!

As if that were not enough, Rennie has also collaborated with Britain's hotly-tipped answer to The Roots..."Left Step Band" for some skanking, dubby, vocal action. The hooky, hook-up came about after Rennie met bass-man Zac on the set of the final Harry Potter movie. As Zac was a "Death- Eater" his suggestion of a remix was taken very seriously.
 Rennie is currently doing a rave-Breaks remix for Supertronix act Jurassic & Codec called Hit Dat and is preparing his next release which is a Soundtrack Album from the film "The Fix". He is also one half of “ones to watch” uberfunkers The Bush Doctors with Jem P from Fingerlickin. They have just started their first Residency (The Bush Doctor’s Medicine Show) at West London’s new Hotspot The Raving Buddha in (aptly named) Shepherd’s Bush. The second dose on Feb 25th sees the mighty Freestylers join the Doctors for all things funky.

 Left Step Band is a London based four- piece comprising of rapper Eff Le Ref, Radio 1 DJ, Dev, drummer Nikolai and bass colossus Zac. Their eclectic, wild style is a stampede of Hip Hop, funk, Ska and fat beats. Their raucous live show has resulted in them being chosen to support Finley Quaye and Questlove amongst others. Expect to see them ripping-up festivals and live gigs this summer.

On the free note we have got Rennie Pilgrem "Erica's Fix" Rennie's Breakspoll Mix. Whipped up on the Friday of Breakspoll for his "Nu Jungle" set he busted out, this one starts off with some airy pads with trippy and ominous vocals leading into a few stabs from the keys before the old school wobbling bassline and Jungle drums drop in. Wicked leads, sensual R&B vocals and a gun cocking here and there mixed with a good dose of edits combine for one killer track.
 Keeping with the Jungle Breaks theme is the Rennie Pilgrem 140 BPM mix up for grabs. 60 minutes of genre bending basslines and breakbeats that will take you on an electronic journey through the ruffneck side.

Rennie Pilgrem Erica's Fix (Rennie's Breakspoll Mix) by Rennie Pilgrem

Rennie Pilgrem 140 BPM Promo Mix

1. - Ben & Lex "Ruffneck" Jinx Remix (Functional)
2. - Rack N Ruin "Mindscape" (Subslayers)
3. - Rennie Pilgrem "Erica's Fix" Rennie's Breakspoll Mix (TCR)
4. - Plumps "Light Fantastic" (Grand Hotel)
5. - Kid Kenobi & MC Shureshock "Safe Sound"
Rack N Ruin Dub (Klub Kids)
6. - Renie Pilgrem "One Time" (TCR) On Street Legal 3
7. - Rennie Pilgrem "Here We Go" (TCR) On Street Legal 3
8. - Rack N Ruin "Pull Up That" (Subslayers)
9. - Emal Kay "Crusdaer"
10. - Pyramid Ft. Julie Thompson "Cruel" (Funkatech)
11. - Jurrasik & Codec "Hit Dat" Rennie Pilgrem's 140 Mix (Supatronix)
12. - Pyramid "Ready 4 Blast Off" (Funkatech)
13. - Pyramid Ft. Banton "Gunman" (Funkatech)
14. - Gella Vs Jinx "Start the Panic" (Subslayers)
15. - Rack N Ruin Ft. Jessie Ware "Soundclash"
Warrior One Remix (Black Butter)
16. - Chase & Status Ft. Delilah "Time" (Mercury)

Rennie Pilgrem 140 Downloadable by Rennie Pilgrem

No comments:

Post a Comment